Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
title of upper subplots partially covered by window frame
Moderator(s):
Thread Score:
Page 1 of 1
Thread Actions

1/4/2011 at 5:49:20 PM GMT
Posts: 68
title of upper subplots partially covered by window frame
Hello Scilab community,
How can I shift a row of subplots downwards a bit to avoid covering half of their titles  by the upper graphic window frame?
Kind regards
Jens

Kind regards
Jens


1/4/2011 at 6:15:42 PM GMT
Posts: 226
RE: title of upper subplots partially covered by window frame
J. Strom said:
Hello Scilab community,
How can I shift a row of subplots downwards a bit to avoid covering half of their titles  by the upper graphic window frame?
Kind regards
Jens

I made a 2x2 sub-plot example and had problems with titles having fonts greater than size 5.

Here are a couple of suggestions

1. Keep your font size small enough not to be obscured.  Admittedly not a great suggestion ...

2.  Use the 'position' option and move the title to a new location. 
Example: title('Here is my title','color','blue,fontsize','10,'position,'[ 10 2])

You will find that you can put the tites just about anywhere you want them.


Last edited Tuesday, January 04, 2011
1/4/2011 at 8:01:57 PM GMT
Posts: 68
Hallo David,
Thanks for your fast response. "position" works well with "plot". I forgot to mention that my subplots are not "plot" but "plot2d3".
The "title" object as a child of  "axes" is 2D.  This holds also for xtitle. Attempts to change the position property leads to no title at all for "plot2d3". So I still have no solution. Perhaps you know another way?
Kind regards
Jens

Kind regards
Jens


1/4/2011 at 8:42:15 PM GMT
Posts: 226
RE:
J. Strom said:
Hallo David,
Thanks for your fast response. "position" works well with "plot". I forgot to mention that my subplots are not "plot" but "plot2d3".
The "title" object as a child of  "axes" is 2D.  This holds also for xtitle. Attempts to change the position property leads to no title at all for "plot2d3". So I still have no solution. Perhaps you know another way?
Kind regards
Jens

We will look into it.  I suspect if the title disappears when the position is used, it is a syntax error somewhere.  An example would be helpful.

Another idea is to use a caption instead of a title.






Last edited Tuesday, January 04, 2011
1/4/2011 at 9:33:30 PM GMT
Posts: 68
This is my mini example:

xdel();
for i=1:2
subplot(5,7,i) 
x=[0 1;0 1]; y=[1 1;0 0]; z=[0 0;0 0] 
plot3d2(x,y,z)
 title('headline')
end

My output shows the lower half of 'headline' only.

'caption' seems to be only 2D too.

Kind regards
Jens

Kind regards
Jens


1/5/2011 at 12:58:59 AM GMT
Posts: 226
Here is a old bug report on this item   (7906).

We are working on some crazy work-a-rounds (like rotating the plots 90 degrees)






Last edited Wednesday, January 05, 2011
1/5/2011 at 4:24:39 AM GMT
Posts: 50

Hi! Try to use Axes properties - margins, by increasing a little bit top margin can fix situation. Here is add on to sample code:

xdel();
for i=1:2
subplot(5,7,i)
x=[0 1;0 1]; y=[1 1;0 0]; z=[0 0;0 0]  
plot3d2(x,y,z)

a
=gca(); a.margins=[0.125 0.125 0.2 0.125];
title('headline') end

 



Last edited Wednesday, January 05, 2011
1/6/2011 at 10:56:26 AM GMT
Posts: 68
Hi Alex,

margins( ) does the trick. Thank you very much!

The command has not been in my supply up to now. Good to have this forum.

Kind regards
Jens

Kind regards
Jens


Community Search
Sign In


Forgot your password?

Register Now!

Scilab Tips


Privacy Policy © 2014 Equalis LLC Terms of Use